Rainy Day Comfort Food

It’s been downright dreary in my part of the world since Christmas.  We’ve only had a few sun-filled days and rain has dominated our forecast.  For me, rain signals a need for comfort food, and I decided to make a fragrant turkey meatloaf to go with homemade mashed potatoes and a crisp, green salad.

Mmm.  A hint of spice...

Mmm.  A hint of spice…

I began by scrounging around in my spice cabinet, and I noticed that I was nearing the end of one of my containers of garam masala, so I decided to add a pinch or two to my meatloaf base.  Ground coriander, (which I love for it’s citus-y freshness) dried basil, and dried oregano went in too.  The result was a flavorful twist on the classic, with bits of onion and green pepper running throughout.  In addition to the customary binders (egg and breadcrumbs), I topped it off with a glaze of ketchup, yellow mustard, brown sugar, and of course, a little sliced bacon!

I also found a way to work some garam masala into turkey burgers this past week: to the ground turkey I added: a pinch or two of garam masala, a dash of ground coriander, a teaspoon of Herbes de Provence, dried basil, and dried oregano.  I combined all the spices on a whim, but I think I may have found my new go-to burger spice blend!!

Finally, I always finely chop at least 1/2 of an onion (and sometimes a whole medium onion!) and add it to the meat.  As a result, I have perfectly moist and seasoned burgers!

Ready for Spring …

heart me

