Embellished Poinsettia Gift Tags

Well, I discovered that despite my best intentions to have this post up over a week ago, I was at the mercy of the postman to deliver the gifts I’d ordered for our family before I could wrap them!  My packages finally arrived over the weekend, and I wrapped each one up tight to put under our Christmas tree, but I wanted to add a little something extra for holiday sparkle.

These poinsettias were just what I had in mind!

These poinsettias were just what I had in mind!

At Thanksgiving, I was scrounging around in my office and came across two packages of cardboard poinsettia coasters I’d absentmindedly picked up in the dollar bins during one of my many trips to the craft store.  I came up with the idea to embellish them and turn them into gift tags.  The process is simple, but if you can’t find cheap holiday coasters, you could always cut out a poinsettia or holiday shape from card stock and make your own custom designs!

For this project, I used:

  • a set of 6 cardboard coasters with a printed, poinsettia design ($1, at craft stores)
  • a grommet punch ($25 at craft stores)
  • a bottle of green glitter paint ($1, at craft stores)
  • adhesive rhinestones or holiday-colored round stickers ($3, in the stationery aisle of home stores or craft stores)
  • ribbon in festive, coordinating colors ($2 per spool, at craft stores)

Method:

Begin by punching a hole in the coaster with a grommet punch.  The middle picture shows what the hole looks like if it does not go all the way through.  This happened a few times and I just used the tip of a ballpoint pen to push out the little center.

Begin by punching a hole in the coaster with a grommet punch. The middle picture shows what the hole looks like if the punch does not go all the way through. This happened to me a few times and I used the tip of a ballpoint pen to push out the little center.

Now, the fun part … the decorating!!

decorating poinsettias

Once the hole is punched, use green glitter paint to accent the poinsettia. I covered some of the white spots on most of mine (see additional photos below). Add sparkle by placing colored rhinestones or round stickers in the middle of the poinsettia tag.

Let the paint dry before sticking a ribbon through the hole and using for gifts.  Here are a few finished poinsettias:

I just love how these turned out!

I just love how these turned out!  I wrote the “To…From…” on the back of each (it was white cardboard) with a red permanent marker.

Now my little maison looks downright festive!  I’ll be sharing more wrapping tricks and holiday fun this week…..

heart me

  • 12 tags of 2012 – december… (timholtz.com) — this is a great post I happened to find through the Related Articles feature on WordPress.  I love the vintage look of his gift tags — I definitely need to explore Distress Ink soon!!  I also love how he used a stamp to create his snowman design — which is a great trick for a fool-proof holiday template!
