A Sixth Visit to the Cheese Counter: My First (and Fruity!) Stilton

Stilton, we just met, but I love you!

Take a look at this wedge of cheese … I mean, how could it not be delicious?

Today, I tried Stilton cheese for the very first time, and more specifically, Stilton with Mango and Ginger.  My knowledge of Stilton is limited to the fact that to serve it from a wheel, people use a frou-frou sort of scoop that I always see in cooking catalogs.

Well, let me just start by saying that this cheese is dangerous.  By dangerous, I mean that I could probably polish off the whole wedge by myself!  It is a crumbly sort of cheese and has a delicate tang.  It tastes similar to cream cheese in its richness, but then the bite hits you, softly.

I would put this cheese on just about anything: a great cracker, an English muffin or a flaky croissant (perhaps with a drizzle of honey), pancakes, or waffles.  I wonder how Stilton with Mango and Ginger would taste melted over a homemade pizza?  You know, the whole sweet and savory dinner thing …

This fruity Stilton might be one of my new favorite cheeses, and with the price at $6/wedge it’s perfect for sharing!

Related Articles:

A Fifth Visit to the Cheese Counter: Cranberry-Studded Delight (mapetitemaisonverte.com)

A Fourth Visit to the Cheese Counter: Feeling Blue (mapetitemaisonverte.com)

A Third Visit to the Cheese Counter: Double Dutch (mapetitemaisonverte.com)

A Second Visit to the Cheese Counter: Humboldt Fog (mapetitemaisonverte.com)

A Visit to the Cheese Counter (mapetitemaisonverte.com)

