Decadent Mocha Pops

I found out today that my favorite local coffee shop is closing its doors at the end of the month.  I will miss my (nearly) weekly visits with the ladies of my writing group, and seeing the baristas and bartenders that have become fixtures in my life.  I guess it is time to find another place to enjoy a cup of coffee while writing and coming up with blog inspiration.

This particular coffee shop is truly a diamond-in-the-rough because it has an ample menu of downright-delicious food, beer, wine, and… monthly wine tastings!  I had my first wine-tasting experience there last October.  You can read all about it in my previous post: Wine Tasting Adventure.  It may be difficult to find another local venue with so much to offer!

This week is also a milestone for me, because on Wednesday, I will hit the one-year mark in blogging and begin blogging a little less frequently.  It seems that this May is definitely a season of change for me…

The flavor of these pops is just perfect, a wonderful combo of coffee and cocoa…

In honor of my favorite coffee shop, today’s post is a frozen, coffee treat.  I picked this recipe this morning because it featured items I already had around the kitchen — a big plus in my book!

I call my ice pops “decadent,” because instead of half-and-half, I used heavy cream that I was trying to get out of my fridge before the expiration date!  I also tried to halve the original recipe since I only have a 6-pop ice pop mold.  Even still, I had about 1/2 cup of the mocha mixture remaining, and I drank it over some ice — not bad!  I bet the original recipe makes a ton of pops!

Decadent Mocha Pops
Makes at least 6 pops.

This recipe is adapted from “Mocha Ice Pops” which I found by visiting http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/mocha-ice-pops-recipe-6936.  Apparently, the original recipe is from EatingWell.com, which is a great site to check out for recipes!

1 1/2 cups hot brewed coffee
2 tablespoons white granulated sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

♦♦  I usually don’t name names when it comes to products (I am not paid to do so, and most brands seem pretty comparable), but Nestle’s cocoa powder is my favorite.  I’ve used many different brands in baking, etc. and I think Nestle’s has the very best flavor if you can find it!

about a cup of heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
pinch of salt

Equipment:
ice pop molds (I have a plastic 6-pop mold that I bought at IKEA)

Method:
Combine the hot coffee, sugar, and cocoa in a bowl to dissolve the sugar.  I used a mild blend of coffee, but it might be fun to vary the flavors.  Mmmm, hazelnut!

Coffee and cocoa combine to perfection in this icy treat.

Yum, coffee. This recipe really works best if you taste as you go. I think my measurements yield a pretty amazing ice pop, but modify the amounts to suit your tastes!

Allow the mixture to cool a bit.  I waited about 10 minutes.

Add in the heavy cream, vanilla, and salt.  Stir to combine with the coffee mixture.

The drips of cream on the top of the cocoa/coffee mixture are so appetizing and artful.

All mixed together!

Pour the mocha mixture into the ice pop molds and insert sticks (in my case, the molds have bases with attached sticks).  This step can be a bit messy, so I used a measuring spoon for help.  A funnel would be great for pouring, too.

See the drips? It’s a messy process…

Freeze for at least 6 hours.

Into the freezer they go!

The original recipe recommends sticking the molds in hot water before dislodging the pops!

