Indoor Gardening for Dummies (or Me)

I am not the world’s greatest gardener, and I am not shy about it.  I think there are a lot of people who wish they could create beautiful gardens (indoors or outdoors), but when it comes to the actual execution, gardening is full of variables, and some are beyond human control.  I have found a few plants that seem to withstand my ignorance, busy schedule, and general come-what-may attitude toward gardening.  I decided to list them here:

In the last few weeks, I have been trying to bring extra green indoors.  It all began earlier this year when I bought an English Ivy topiary to sit in my living room window area.  Surprisingly enough, I haven’t killed it yet, and it actually seems to be thriving.  I feel like I should whisper that though, just so I don’t jinx anything!  It sits near my front windows, facing north, and I water it about once a week.  After a few months, it still looks happy.

The other plant that I have been experimenting with is Philodendron.  I actually picked it out because of its trailing, vine-like foliage, and because I thought it would look great on a side table or dangling from my mantle.  The leaves are green and glossy, and it doesn’t seem to need much water, which is great for a forgetful (but well-intentioned) gardener like me!  I have had it for two weeks now and I have barely watered it, and it still looks like new.

It seems that every time I am in the garden center, I find my way over to the display of miniature, Flowering Cacti.  When I was growing up, we had a display of cacti in our basement.  I would love to buy a few different varieties for my growing indoor garden and put them in fun, tiny pots.  I know I won’t have to worry too much about watering those!

These three plants all seem to do quite well in indirect light and require minimal watering.  They are also very affordable, which is important if you tend to experience more mistakes than successes in growing plants (like I do).  However, if I can keep them alive, I think anyone can!

Best of luck, and Happy Gardening! 

