What Does It Mean to Be a “Foodie?”

If someone were to ask me if I consider myself a “foodie” I would probably say yes.  But what does it mean to be a “foodie?”

I’ve never attended a food festival, a cooking class, or a celebrity chef’s restaurant (give me another year), but I do love the notion of nourishing the human body through tasty fuel and pleasant company.

Here are a few things that I think make me a “foodie”:

  • the blog posts on Freshly Pressed on WordPress that feature recipes are usually the ones I read first
  • I wish I had more space for cookbooks and I am brainstorming extra storage solutions so I can expand my stash
  • I have had entire conversations about herbs, cooking gadgets, botched recipes, and celebrity chefs
  • I cook at home about 5 times a week and I enjoy planning menus and challenging myself with new recipes — the wilder the ingredients, the more intrigued I get — blood pudding anyone?

Yet, as much as I aspire to the likes of Julia Child, Emeril Lagasse, Eric Ripert, or Tom Colicchio, I must admit that my cooking tends to be more Sandra Lee-esque in some respects, minus such delectables as her Kwanzaa Cake. Seriously, you need to watch the video… click on the link in the previous sentence.  And yes, those are Corn Nuts.

I think many home cooks probably use a mixture of store-bought ingredients and fresh produce, meat, or dairy, depending on the time constraints of daily life.  I myself, have never made a homemade pastry crust, and I’m OK with that.

I might try to make a pie crust from scratch at some point, but if I have the choice between making a homemade crust, or getting an extra 30 minutes of sleep, or between making a homemade crust and enjoying a glass of wine while sitting on my deck, it really is a no-brainer for me.  I’m going with the refrigerated pie crust.  But I roll it out myself, so that has to count for something, right?!?

I will say that I enjoy the volume of recipes, competitions, flavor combinations, and serving ideas that the food revolution has brought to the masses, like me.  I find food news, food shows, and food writing to be very inspiring.

As long as there are “foodies” in the world, we will all eat better and smile while doing it.

Do you consider yourself a foodie?  What do you find most inspiring about food?

  • The Foodie (echoessilencepatienceandgrace.wordpress.com)
