A Few Words About Pantry Organization…

Whether you are blessed to have a designated pantry or a few shelves in a cabinet for storage, I have a couple of tips that I have found helpful over the years to organize everyday cooking essentials.

1) Make sure everything is properly sealed. I put this at the top of my list because I had to learn this lesson the hard way when I lived in a tropical climate and had a few unwanted food pests in my kitchen! Invest in clear plastic containers with tight-fitting lids or similar containers for baking supplies like flours, sugars, and powders. Plastic containers are also helpful to store snack items and dried fruits once you open the original packaging.

2) Create labels for frequently used items, so that you can find them at a glance. I have a penchant for labels, so I enjoy writing out the names of foodstuffs on adhesive labels and then “laminating” them onto the containers with a strip of clear tape. This tip makes discerning bread flour from all-purpose flour a snap!

3) Utilize vertical space. When organizing canned goods, bags, or spices, use racks and shelving to make the most of every square inch by moving items upwards.

4) Let there be light! My pantry is like a small closet, and even though there is a light above the door area, it can be hard to see in the corners, so I bought a small, battery-powered tap light at the dollar store. The light comes with an adhesive sticker on the back, so it can be attached to the wall. Whenever I need to check in the dark recesses of my pantry, I just tap the light on to find what I need! For only a dollar, it’s a true bargain.

