Waiting for Spring…

In my little corner of the world, we’ve had an unseasonably warm winter and I’ve been fighting the urge to plant something since January. In order to appease my brown (or black) thumb, I bought an ivy plant after the New Year. I chose ivy because it seemed hearty, and I’m proud to say that I haven’t killed it…yet.

I hope that the warm weather continues, and I’m already planning my first trip to the nursery in a week or so. This Spring, I have resolved to buy more fresh herbs for my terraced garden that we built last summer. On the top of my list are purple sage, lavender, and cilantro. Fresh cilantro makes me think of Mexican suppers: fish tacos, enchiladas with cilantro rice and black beans…

I also want to buy a few tomato plants and start them early this year. I think that is key with tomato plants in my climate — to get them established, and bearing fruit in time for the heat and scorching rays of early summer.

We are also preparing to fertilize and cut our new lawn for the first time since we finished our landscaping and laying sod in October. I can’t wait to see how it will look with a little seed and nutrients, because I think it looks pretty great already!

Finally, I have some space in a container garden for additional produce or seasonal flowers. I am leaning towards marigolds or anything bright. I may also plant an additional knock-out rose bush or a forsythia. I just love color, especially yellow, purple, and red.

Do any of you gardeners have suggestions for me?

