Place Mat Inspiration

Today, I ran across a place mat by David Stark in the March 2012 issue of House Beautiful. It’s called Shop Placemat and according to the magazine, it was apparently inspired by the tool belt that carpenters wear to store hand tools and stray nails within easy reach.  If you happen to have the mag, it is featured on page 18, but the place mat can also be seen on the web at hausinterior.com, or by clicking the following link.

I thought that the pocket idea was very clever, and it reminded me of three things: one, of my post last year on napkin folding, Easy Napkin Folding: The Pocket; two, of the recycled jean pocket pillows and purses of the 80’s and early 90’s; and finally, of my love for home improvement — in all its forms.

I can’t wait to rummage through the fabric remnant bins and try making my own place mats with cute pockets!  I don’t think I’ll use as many angles as the Shop Placemat has in my own place mats, but I love the idea of storing flatware and festive objects in the table setting itself.

Inspirational indeed.

