The Cookie That Thinks It’s a Brownie

This post is dedicated to my friend Ashley who experimented with a snickerdoodle cookie recipe and came up with this chocolate version.  She sent it to me as a dessert idea to try for the blog.

She thought I might want to use the recipe in February, but I’ve had a powerful chocolate craving lately, so I whipped up my first batch of these cookies this afternoon.  I couldn’t wait!

Warm from the oven, with a golden, crunchy sugar coating and oh-so-delicious… these cookies are like brownies, and may just be one of my new favorite things!  Thanks Ashley!

Ashley’s Chocolate Cookies
Adapted from Soft Snickerdoodle Cookies — a link to the original recipe is provided above.  Makes 48 cookies.

1 cup butter
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 large eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
turbinado sugar for rolling the cookies**

** I like to use turbinado or raw sugar instead of white sugar because the crystals make a great, crunchy crust and have a golden, elegant look.

Method:
Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Cream the butter, white sugar, and eggs using an electric mixer.

Here is the butter, white sugar, and eggs.

Combine the dry ingredients: flour, cocoa powder, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl.

Look at that cocoa color...

Blend the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in batches.  I like to combine the ingredients in about 3 batches so that I don’t overwork my mixer.  Plus, no baker wants a cocoa cloud to erupt in the kitchen!

This is the cookie dough when it is blended and prior to chilling.

Chill the dough and an ungreased cookie sheet for about 10-15 minutes in the refrigerator.

Roll the dough into 1-inch balls, or use a small cookie scoop, as I did.  Roll each ball in turbinado sugar.

I love the golden hue of the turbinado sugar...

Place the sugary balls on the ungreased cookie sheet, and bake 10-12 minutes.  The original recipe calls for 10 minutes, but with my oven, 12 minutes was perfect.  The recipe will make 3 batches of 16 cookies per pan.

Remove the cookies from the oven and allow the pan to cool for 1-2 minutes.  Then, knock the cookie sheet on the counter a few times to create the brownie-like texture.  The cookies may crack on the tops, but this is okay.

Finally, use a spatula to gingerly remove the cookies from the pan.  The cookies will firm up within minutes if cooled on a wire rack.

I was very impressed with these cookies ... so soft, and packed with cocoa flavor!

Enjoy while warm or with a cool glass of milk!

Yum!

♦  Extra Fancy: Ashley suggested making cookie sandwiches by putting ice cream or flavored whipped cream in the middle of two chocolate cookies.  Just stir a splash of your favorite flavoring (almond, cherry, mint, etc.) into homemade whipped cream.

I think a dollop of chocolate-hazelnut spread or even peanut butter would also be a tasty filler for these cookies.  The firm texture on the outside of the cookies holds up well to rich and creamy additions!

