Full and Happy

I have had the good fortune of spending two consecutive evenings with one of my favorite couples. Friday evening, we met up for a leisurely dinner that lasted until about 10:30 p.m., and this evening they hosted us for a dinner party featuring Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguignon. It began around 4:30 p.m., and continued well into the evening until we left their home with bleary eyes to crawl into our own bed, full and happy.

Although the recipe is a dish I have wanted to attempt for almost four years now (ever since the same friend first fixed it for me), I’m not sure that I’m ready yet.

I helped minimally by chopping a few vegetables and snacking on hors d’oeuvres, and I took some pictures, see below. I think a general rule of cooking is this: whenever beef is braised in wine, the meal is bound to be good!

The beef and vegetables come up to temperature on the stove before going in the oven.

This is what the beef looks like once it has finished cooking, before the sauce is reduced.

Here is the beef plated up for serving over potatoes. Yum. A big thanks to our friend Shane for showing us how it's done!

More cooking on the blog tomorrow…chocolate cookies!

