It’s Almost Time for King Cake!

When I think of the upcoming month of February, I think of Mardi Gras and king cake. If you have never tasted king cake, it is an aromatic, cinnamon-spiced, nutty, firm on the outside, soft and rich on the inside, coffeecake frosted with icing and decorated with sprinkles in the traditional colors of Mardi Gras or “Fat Tuesday” — purple, green, and gold.

A traditional king cake also contains a little plastic baby hidden somewhere in the cake. The person who finds the baby in his piece of cake is said to have good luck and be “King” for the day.

This past weekend, mon mari and I went to a New Orleans/Cajun/Creole-themed restaurant. The restaurant had a king cake dessert on the menu, and my mouth started watering at the very thought of king cake!

A little early in the year for it, but what the heck? When we tried to order the dessert, the restaurant told us they ran out of it!

My taste buds were crushed.

I decided to add king cake to my Culinary Bucket List, but I was wondering if any of you, dear readers, have ever made one?

Do you eagerly eye the bakery shelves this time of year waiting for the king cake to appear like I do?? Don’t worry, your secret is safe with me!

