Doughnut Update

In response to reader comments on my last cake doughnut recipe, “Lemon Poppy-Seed Cake Doughnuts,” I decided to see if the same doughnut batter could be used to make fried doughnuts or cupcakes.

Here are the results:

  Fried Doughnuts

Although the ingredients in the batter for “Lemon Poppy-Seed Cake Doughnuts” are similar to ingredients found in fried doughnut recipes, the batter was ultimately too watery and literally fell apart in my deep-fryer.  I didn’t take a photo of the mess, but there definitely was one! 

Oh well, I might try experimenting with other recipes for lemon doughnuts in fried form in the future!

  Cupcakes

I used 2 mini cupcake/mini muffin pans to make 2 dozen miniature cupcakes from the remaining batter after the frying debacle.  All told, the batter would probably yield about 26 mini cupcakes.

I used a small cookie scoop to fill the cavities evenly with batter.

I baked the cupcakes for 12-15 minutes at 350°F, watching closely to prevent too much browning.  The cupcakes are done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool the cupcakes in the pans for 10-15 minutes before removing them.  Frost as desired.  See photo at top.

