Bananas Foster Cheesecake!

For some reason, it has been several days since I actually cooked anything for this blog.  I usually find cooking relaxing, but not lately!  I have been so busy that I seem to fall more readily into my pillow than into a pot or pan these past few weeks.

Although I haven’t been in the kitchen much since the Christmas holiday, I have been treating myself to a few dining-out indulgences like the downright sinful Bananas Foster cheesecake I had today during lunch.

I know it looks like a ridiculous amount of whipped cream, but it was so airy...

What surprised me most about this Bananas Foster cheesecake (which was just a slice of regular cheesecake topped with caramelized bananas in a warm, rum sauce) was how light it tasted.  Of course, I’m not saying that the dessert is light on calories…only that it isn’t a heavy sort of dessert that sticks with you throughout the day.  Rather, the cheesecake, sliced fruit, and rum sauce was a delicate and comforting finish to a lovely meal with mon mari.

I think it would be fun to incorporate the traditional flavors of Bananas Foster (caramelized bananas, brown sugar, and rum) into any myriad of desserts.  I can imagine Bananas Foster ice cream, doughnuts, cake, and perhaps even a pie!

I think a few of those desserts might have to go on my Culinary Bucket List!  ♥

