Chronicling Cocktails: The Paloma

One of my New Year’s blog-o-lutions (resolutions) is to try more cocktails at home and out on the town. I made the resolution in part, because so many of my friends have truly great bars and can mix a variety of drinks for quick refreshment. I, on the other hand, can not.

But I hope to get there…

Tonight I tried a Paloma cocktail which reaffirmed for me all the reasons why I enjoy grapefruit juice: a little bit sour, a little bit sweet, and refreshing, with the tiniest bit of pucker. Plus, the pink color!

My drink was delightfully pink, tasty to boot, and served with a fresh lime slice. I can assure you, I’ll be making one again very soon!

Here are the ingredients: silver tequila, lime juice, grapefruit juice, and a splash of lemon-lime soda.

My only word of caution would be… don’t go too heavy on the ice! Of course, a cocktail like this should be chilled, but my biggest bar complaint is a watered-down drink!

Finally, I suspect it’s not traditional, but I put a little salt on my rim! I just think it brings out the flavor of tequila so well.

Try a version of the Paloma yourself, or recommend another drink for me to try next!

Cheers, and please drink responsibly!!

