A Few Words About Texture Paint…

I was looking at my blog, and I realized that it has been a long time since I posted anything about home improvement, so I decided to write a post on one of the more difficult, but most often complimented home improvement projects we have done: texture painting our dining room.

When I started to think back on the looong weekend we spent texture painting, I knew I needed to write a list of all the things I wish someone had told me about texture paint BEFORE we started. Now, you dear readers can reap the benefits of my experience!

As a little disclaimer, I am certainly not an expert on home improvement. I’m just a very determined do-it-yourselfer who would rather roll up her sleeves, work with her hands, and get a bit of a workout than pay someone else to renovate my home. If you have questions about painting or safety ask a professional or inquire at your local home improvement store!

1. Texture painting requires patience and a bit of precision or design. No matter what type of texturing agent you use (granules that you mix into paint by hand, paint with texture mixed at the store, or spackle that you swirl and spread on the wall), the texture should be applied slowly and evenly, in a pattern, if applicable. As frustrating as it is to do, a methodical approach yields a better looking room.

2. A textured wall soaks up A LOT of paint, so buy more paint than you think you will need. We used granules that we mixed into store-bought gallons of paint, and we used about two gallons for our small dining room. Keep in mind that you will do a few coats on top of the base coat to even out the texture in certain areas, so having enough paint is a must!

3. Never underestimate the usefulness of a little foam brush for touch-ups. It seems that we always have a few foam brushes in our garage, and for small areas, or evening out texture along the top of a wall, foam brushes work very well. Plus, little bits of texture stick easily to the brush, so you can be quite precise in covering any gaps in texture.

4. Consider the amount of light in the room on a daily basis. Our dining room doesn’t get much light at all, so we painted it a textured chocolate brown to add to the cozy feel. The dark color also helps to hide any painting inaccuracies. I’m not saying that you can’t use texture paint in lighter shades, but be aware that your mistakes and any unevenness will be much more noticeable with light hues than if you choose a darker color.

5. Apply the paint in a well-lit work area. Light is important when considering texture paint as my previous point shows, but it is also important in applying it. Use additional work lighting and angle the lights so that you can see how the texture coats the wall and where touch-ups are needed.

6. Texture is a commitment. As far as I know, the only way to effectively remove texture paint from a wall is to sand it off. I have heard that the removal process is labor-intensive and messy. However, texture paint is a great choice to cover wall imperfections or add interest to a room. We painted our dining room walls with a final coat of semi-gloss over the eggshell base coats and it created a wonderful, leather-like appearance that guests often inquire about.

I hope this post has piqued your interest in texture painting at home. I did most of the work on our dining room, and I couldn’t be happier with the results! Feel free to ask me any questions in the comments section. I’m not an expert, but I’ll do my best to answer them!

