Why Am I Feeling Grinchy?

Usually, the Christmas season is one of my favorite times of year, but not in 2011. For some reason, I’m running frightfully behind in everything holiday this year, and I can’t seem to get into the spirit of things. Perhaps it is because we are having an unusually warm December, but I feel like Halloween was literally last week!

My tree just went up on Friday, but it’s bare. We strung a few lights outdoors and then realized we needed a better extension cord, so they are hanging darkly from our gutters tonight.

I have a few presents wrapped and sitting meekly under the aforementioned plain tree. But I still have several dozen cookies to bake, gifts to make, and family to entertain in the coming days.

I suspect that I’m not the only one who is feeling this way with Christmas quickly approaching, but this holiday rush is a new predicament for me.

I’m usually done with my holiday prep, singing carols, and gaily sipping eggnog by this time…oh well, I guess I still have a couple of days to transform my crazed, box-littered home into a winter wonderland!

Now if only Santa would send me a maid…

