A Third Visit to the Cheese Counter: Double Dutch

I try to visit my local cheese-monger once a month, or at least every other month.  I recently discovered a little basket at the counter filled with discounted wedges of cheese which are perfect for folks like me who want to try new cheeses, but might not want to purchase a large amount, or are shopping on a budget.

On my latest trip, I bought two Dutch cheeses: a medium-sized wedge of Dutch Parrano cheese, and a generous slab of Dutch Gouda.  The two blocks of cheese cost me under $8, so not a bad way to try out new flavors!

Gouda is one of my favorite cheeses, and I especially like Herbed Gouda, which I blogged about in A Visit to the Cheese Counter, the first of these “cheesy” posts.  The Dutch Gouda is creamier, and my cheese-monger hailed it as a great melting cheese, so I decided to use it to make a platter of grilled cheese sandwiches for our supper … after nibbling a bit off the sides!

Here is the Dutch Gouda cheese.

As far as taste, the Dutch Gouda has a subtle bite to it.  The grilled cheese sandwiches I made were delicious, and I may never go back to plain old cheddar!  Tomorrow, I am going to make a decadent Lobster Macaroni and Cheese with an extra wedge I bought — be sure to check back for the recipe.  I promise it’s not as expensive as it sounds!!

The Dutch Parrano is a new cheese to me, and I have to say that it’s a bit strong!  When I first tasted it, the cheese reminded me of Parmesan, and I would be more inclined to use it as a flavorful topping for pasta or pizza, or as a salty garnish for homemade soup.

This is the Dutch Parrano cheese. I was glad to get a bit of the rind in this shot!

