Tips and Tricks for La Maison, Vol. IX

Since I made Spicy Pumpkin Cheesecake Shooters yesterday, I found myself cleaning out a few sets of tall, narrow shot glasses to serve the desserts in.

Unless you have dainty hands and fingers, this task can be quite a chore, so I thought I would share my method for cleaning narrow or small objects like bud vases, wine bottles, beakers, or carafes. It also works to dust the tiny nooks and crannies of home accessories where a hand or rag cannot fit.

I begin by slightly wetting 1-2 pieces of paper towel with water and an optional bit of soap (if cleaning) or using some furniture polish sprayed on paper towel (if dusting). Then, I take a wooden skewer or chopstick and gently push the paper towel through the opening of the bottle, vase, etc, being careful not to tear it.

I use the skewer to move the paper towel around the inside of the object to clean the corners and all the areas of dirt and residue. When the inside looks clean, I gradually work the used paper towel out of the hole using the skewer, and discard the towel. If the inside needs to be dried further, I repeat the process with a dry paper towel.

If the object to be cleaned is very small, a single piece of paper towel can be cut into a smaller portion to use in cleaning.

I hope you find this tip useful in cleaning and dusting hard to reach areas and delicate home accessories!

