A Second Visit to the Cheese Counter: Humboldt Fog

On the recommendation of a friend, I bought a wedge of Humboldt Fog cheese from my local cheese-monger to sample.

I love the moldiness and odor of this cheese!

For those of you that have never tried it, Humboldt Fog is a crumbly, delicate, and creamy cheese that to my taste buds seems similar to bleu cheese, with a slightly more pungent flavor.  I think this cheese would be a delicious addition to mashed potatoes, or as a topper for a rich soup or fondue.  It could also add flavor and texture to a salad or steak.

I would use Humboldt Fog as a substitute in any dish where bleu cheese is normally present, or as a variant for Gorgonzola perhaps.  I think it would taste amazing on a pear and walnut pizza…hmm, dinner on Sunday?

