In Retrospect…

It’s official!  I have written a half-year’s worth of blog posts, and I’m still going strong!

Each day, I try to post tips, ideas, and home adventures that I think others might like to read about.  I try to keep the posts brief, like a little newsletter.  I write on a range of topics including: cuisine, crafting, entertaining, holiday, home décor, home improvement, little tricks, outdoors, and personal style.  I will hit the six-month mark (in days) on November 16, 2011.

I hope you have enjoyed the posts I’ve written thus far, and in honor of the half-way point, I thought I would take a look back at the last few months in this survey.

Q.  How do you decide what topics to post on Ma Petite Maison Verte?

A.  I have a big notebook full of ideas that I brainstorm from.  I enjoy the feeling of pen hitting paper, and so I use a notebook instead of a laptop to store my ideas.  I also attend a writer’s group and I work on the blog there in addition to fiction and memoir writing.

Q.  What is (are) your favorite post(s)?

A.  It’s so hard to pick a favorite!  I would say that my favorites are Simple Almond Soap Balls, Creamy Tartlets — Three Ways, DIY Button Wine Charms, and Place Card Primer: Espresso Cups.  Out of all the posts that I do, I enjoy writing the place card posts the most.  For my favorites, I picked a recipe and a few ideas that I was particularly proud of.  I enjoyed making the soap balls because they were quick, smelled heavenly, and my hands felt wonderful after rolling all those balls!

Mon mari says his favorite (based on taste!) is Cheesy, Bacon-Wrapped Dates.

Q.  What post would you like to do over?

A.  Besides the obvious, Cake Pop Disaster, I was annoyed that the photos I took for Strawberry Rhubarb Whoopie Pies didn’t come out better.  The pies were so charming (and delicious!) the photos did not do them justice.

Q.  What was the hardest post you have done?

A.  The hardest post to do so far has been Orange Tres Leches Cake.  It took two days to complete — but it was worth it!  Adding Interest to Paper…With Tea! also took two days to complete.

Q.  What is the tastiest dish you have cooked?

A.  The tastiest dish I have cooked/baked has been Pavlova with Blackberries and Honey Drizzle.

Q.  What is one post that got a larger response than you expected?

A.  I was very surprised by the positive reaction to Perfect Rice Balls.  When I wrote it, I wondered if there would be any interest in it, and whether the post was useful.

Q.  What is one thing that your readers might be surprised to learn about you?

A.  I don’t have much of a sweet tooth!  I’m more of a salty gal myself.

I know that I post a lot of desserts on the blog, but I tend to post them because I like to commemorate the treats I make for others.  

Dessert recipes are usually quite involved, so I like to show off a bit when I make a dish that looks as good as it tastes.  I also think desserts make for wonderful photographs, and I’m definitely working on my photography skills.

Q.  How do you measure the success of your blog?

A.  I think my blog is a success if I enjoy writing it each day.  If it becomes tedious, I think it will show in the quality of the posts.

Q.  Do you feature original artwork on your blog?

A.  Yes.  In case you couldn’t tell already…all of the images and illustrations are done by me (poorly) or mon mari (wonderfully).  The photos are usually taken by me, though mon mari helps, and I have a good friend who lends a hand in taking photos once in a while.  I decided when I began the blog to use only original artwork and photos, good or bad!

Q.  Will you continue with the blog if you reach your goal of a-post-a-day for one year?

A.  I would like to.  I find blogging much more rewarding that I ever imagined.  I will continue to blog as long as I think I have useful things to say.

Q.  What are some future blog topics you are excited to write about?

A.  I am excited for the Christmas holidays which are always a big event for my family.  I can’t wait to blog about affordable homemade decorations and gifts.  I’m also excited to make vanilla chai doughnuts, purple sage tea (in the spring), and sticky toffee pudding.

Q.  Do you have any future goals for Ma Petite Maison Verte?

A.  I have been surprised and honored to have 16 subscribers and over 5,600 views in less than 6 months.  I would be overjoyed to reach 20 subscribers and 10,000 views by year’s end.  A lofty goal, I know!

In closing, I would like to extend a special thanks to everyone who has subscribed, read, commented, or merely stumbled upon this little blog of mine since May 2011.  It is wonderful to connect with others who share my interests whether you are mere minutes or half the world away.  I cherish you all.

