Spiced Pumpkin Seeds for Snacking

I am a bit of a nut about nuts…I like them all and I frequently snack on them during the day.  I also enjoy seeds like sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds, which I buy in a large bag at the market.  I like to eat pumpkin seeds whole, without the white exterior removed.

Recently, my friend Ashley asked me if I had ever tried spiced pumpkin seeds and she outlined the ingredients for making them at home, so that I could try it.  The resulting roasted seeds are aromatic, satisfying, and full of fall flavors.  A perfect snack!

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds
Makes 1 1/3 cups of pumpkin seeds.

1 heaping teaspoon of ground cinnamon
2 generous pinches of ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
6 tablespoons of brown sugar
3 tablespoons of butter
5 oz bag of pumpkin seeds, approximately 1 1/3 cups

Method:

Preheat the oven to 325°F and cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Combine the spices in a small bowl.  You could add ginger to the mix like Ashley did, but instead of ginger, I used ground cloves since it is my very favorite spice.  I just love the smell of cloves.  It transports me to a happy place.

A wonderfully fragrant bowl of spices.

Melt 2 tablespoons of the butter and all of the brown sugar in a saucepan over medium heat.  Add in the pumpkin seeds and the final tablespoon of butter.

Stirring constantly, coat the pumpkin seeds with buttery, melted brown sugar.

Transfer the seeds to the baking sheet.

The seeds just before their spice bath.

Sprinkle the seeds with 3/4 of the spice mixture and toss them on the baking sheet to coat them.

One layer of spicy goodness down...

Next, sprinkle the remaining 1/4 of the spice mixture over the seeds.

Here is what I had left of the spices for the final dusting.

These seeds are ready to roast away! Your house will smell amazing while these work in the oven!

Roast the pumpkin seeds in the oven for 20-30 minutes, then cool them a bit, and enjoy!

