Gourd-geous!

I spent the morning perusing a few local nurseries and I must confess, for someone with a self-admitted brown thumb…I really enjoy spending time in the garden center.  Perhaps it’s because of the sense of hope and possibility that it gives me, or maybe I’m just a fan of colorful, good-smelling things.

I always get excited when the first shipments of pumpkins, gourds, and winter squash start to pour in.  I love the colors, the funky shapes, and the ugly, wartiness of them all.  This is certainly one instance where being an eyesore = greatness.  To me, the wartier, the better!

Here are some pictures that I took:

A display of fall gourds, pumpkins, and winter squash.

I think this picture shows a Red Hubbard or a Red Warty Thing (which I hope it is, just because I think the name is so cute!), three Grey/Blue Hubbards, two Carnival Squash, and a Jarrahdale or Blue Max heirloom pumpkin.  Now, before you start to think that I’m some sort of gourd genius, I did some Internet research on pumpkins, gourds, and winter squash over at Haunted Bay.

This heirloom pumpkin has an almost purplish/blue cast to it.

This heirloom pumpkin is, I think, a Long Island Cheese.  I just love these names, don’t you?!?

♦♦  What are your favorite types of gourds, warty winter squash, and pumpkins?  How do you like to use them?

