Sweet Potato and Pecan Biscotti

I am a self-proclaimed lover of all things pie.  For many years, pumpkin pie was one of my holiday staples.

That is, until mon mari introduced me to the deliciousness that is sweet potato pie.  Now I prefer sweet potato pie over pumpkin, and I have actually converted my family so that they  request one of my sweet potato pies each year for Thanksgiving.

However, I’m still a fan of pumpkin, and I especially enjoy all the pumpkin-infused recipes that crop up this time of year…pumpkin muffins, pumpkin lattes, pumpkin breads, and pumpkin cookies…the list goes on and on…

I found a gourmet-looking recipe for Pumpkin Pie Biscotti over at gimmesomeoven.com and wondered how it might taste if I substituted sweet potato instead?  Below is the tasty result!

Sweet Potato and Pecan Biscotti (adapted from Pumpkin Pie Biscotti from gimmesomeoven.com)
Yields 2 logs, approximately 28 pieces.  

♦♦ I made some changes to the ingredients and the baking times, but otherwise I followed the method of the original recipe.

Ingredients:
3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup turbinado sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 pinches of salt
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup sweet potato puree/pie filling
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 cup pecan pieces

Method:
Grease a baking sheet and preheat the oven to 350°F.

Mix the dry ingredients together: flour, turbinado sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.

Here are all the aromatic spices, sugars, flour, salt, and baking powder.

The dry goods are combined. See the little flecks of spice?

Combine the wet ingredients: eggs, sweet potato puree, and vanilla.

Here is some sweet potato puree...

The sweet potato puree, beaten eggs, and vanilla combo makes a beautiful fall hue.

Slowly incorporate the potato puree mixture into the flour mixture in batches.  If the dough is a bit wet, add a little extra flour.  I had to increase the amount of flour in the recipe from the original because I think sweet potato puree has more liquid than pumpkin.

This is the dough being mixed together at the beginning. A light orange/tan dough results.

Once the dough begins to come together, gently stir in the pecan pieces.

Divide the dough in half and use one portion to form the first log on a floured surface.  I followed the instructions from the original recipe and made logs about 10″ long and 2″ wide.  The dough should be enough for two of these logs.

Here are the biscotti logs prior to baking.

Carefully transfer the logs to the greased baking sheet.  Bake the logs for 24 minutes.  I took this time from the original recipe and some of my biscotti was still chewy in the center, even after the second baking.  It didn’t bother me, but I would suggest baking the logs for 24 minutes and then closely watching them for another 6 minutes or so to see if they bake more thoroughly that way.  I suggest watching them closely so they do not burn!

After the logs have baked 24-30 minutes, remove them from the oven.  At this point, lower the oven temperature to 300°F.

These are the biscotti logs after the first baking, you can see that they puff up a bit.

Allow the logs to cool 10-15 minutes and cut them into biscotti pieces about a half-inch thick with a serrated knife.

Do yourself a favor and use a serrated knife. Even with gentle sawing, you can tear the biscotti, so a regular knife just wouldn't do.

Place the biscotti pieces back on the baking sheet with the cut sides up.  The ends of each roll like to roll around (no pun intended), so I propped them up against one end of the pan and carefully put the pan into the oven.  Bake them for 18 minutes.

The biscotti get flipped after the first baking. You can see the chewier centers on a few of these pieces.

Then remove the biscotti from the oven and flip each piece over so that the other side can bake.  Bake the opposite side for 20 minutes.

Remove the biscotti from the oven and cool them on cooling racks.  The original recipe says they keep for about a month in a sealed container.

Mon mari said these were so yummy, they didn't need frosting! Now, where's my coffee?!

