Marshmallow Pops

Who needs cake pops?

After my stressful experience last month, see Cake Pop Disaster, I decided to go a different route and try to make marshmallow pops.  In my opinion, these pops are easier, less messy, cheaper, and tastier.  All in all, a very sweet little treat!

Marshmallow Pops
Makes 16 pops.

¤  16 large marshmallows (there are even vegan and vegetarian varieties, I’m told)
¤  nearly a full bag of milk chocolate chips (I think a whole bag would yield about 20 pops)**

**  You can substitute candy coating, almond bark, white chocolate, dark chocolate, or semisweet chocolate

¤  sprinkles, nuts, candies, crumbled cookies to decorate
¤  wooden skewers, lollipop sticks, toothpicks, or Popsicle sticks
¤  wax paper
¤  small baking sheet and 1-2 tablespoons

Method:

Begin by covering the baking sheet with wax paper.  I used a half sheet pan.

Then, melt the chocolate chips in a medium bowl.  You can use the stove-top or the microwave.  Since I was going for quick, easy, and minimal cleanup, I used the microwave.  Heat the chocolate chips for one and a half minutes, pausing every 30 seconds to stir the chips so they do not burn.

Dip each marshmallow, one at a time, into the melted chocolate to coat it.

This marshmallow is just finishing a chocolate bath...

I worked pretty fast so that the chocolate wouldn’t melt the marshmallows, and I used two tablespoons to hold, coat, and finally transfer each marshmallow from the bowl of chocolate to the baking sheet.

Decorate with sprinkles, chopped nuts, cookie crumbs, or crushed candies.

Place the baking sheet in the freezer for 40-45 minutes to allow the chocolate coating to firm up.

Take the marshmallows out of the freezer and gently put a skewer in each one.  You could also place each finished marshmallow in a mini muffin/cupcake liner and put them on a serving platter.

Here are a few finished marshmallow pops. I loved how quick and easy they were to make and decorate!

