Choco-Nutty Mint Hot Chocolate

Last month, I bought some hot chocolate mix that claimed to be chocolate mint flavor – one of my favorite combinations.  However, the taste of the hot chocolate was decidedly…unappetizing.

Being a choco-mint aficionado, I knew I could do better with a quick visit to my pantry for one of my everyday staples…

Choco-Nutty Mint Hot Chocolate
Serves 2-4 persons, depending on cup size.  

I think this hot chocolate would be a great dessert for a rich meal because it’s smooth and settles the tummy with its mint-i-ness.  Enjoy!

2 cups half n’ half
2 heaping tablespoons chocolate hazelnut spread (I used the spoon in the picture)
a swig or two of mint extract, to taste

Begin by heating the half n’ half in a saucepan with high sides.  I heat it until bubbles form and begin to pop at the edges.  Be careful not to overheat it, and stir often.

Next, stir in the chocolate hazelnut spread and mix well to incorporate it into the half n’ half.  I used a spoonula and pushed the spread around in the pot until it melted.

The chocolate hazelnut spread as it is being incorporated into the half n' half base.

Add in the mint extract and remove from the heat.  You can ladle the hot chocolate into cups and serve it right away or let it thicken a few minutes (it will darken in color), and then re-stir it and serve.

For presentation, I like to add a large marshmallow to each cup, but this time, I had to substitute mini-marshmallows.

