Tips and Tricks for La Maison, Vol. VII

Magnetic Hooks for Pot-holders
 One of the first things I bought when we moved into our home were some magnetic metal clips to put on the side of our refrigerator that faces the stove.  Although I love my kitchen now, when we first moved in, the kitchen had a woeful lack of drawers and a big storage problem.

We solved the problem by building and installing a large island, but in the meantime, I needed a place to store my pot-holders within easy reach of the stove, and magnetic hooks did just the trick!  I don’t think I will ever move them to a drawer…

Quick Polish for Stemware
 If you have stemware with a metallic finish on the rim, you can clean the glasses easily with disposable jewelry wipes or jewelry cloths.

I usually buy a small tub of dry wipes safe for gold and silver at the jewelry counter, and use them to remove any tarnish that dulls the finish on my stemware.  At under $5, jewelry wipes are a quick way to keep your fine glassware sparkling!

