Stone Shopping?!?!

I spent my day getting dusty in rock quarries, landscaping stores, and home improvement store stone yards.  The tires of my new car are tinged with a gray film, and I have grit in my eyes.  But I have nearly a full pallet of retaining wall stone waiting for me this weekend.  Um, yay?!?

My favorite, but I was out-voted...plain tan it is!

I wish I could say that by the phrase “stone shopping” I meant diamonds, but alas, I have decided to take on yet another home improvement project that promises even more hours in the 90+ heat — building a terraced garden/retaining wall in my front yard.

If you follow this blog at all, you know that I am gardening-challenged, but I think that putting a terraced garden in my front yard is the next best thing to tearing out all the grass and filling it with cement painted a cheery green.  Before you laugh, I seriously thought about the cement, but decided my neighbors might not like it!

As I was “stone shopping” today, I marveled at all the colors.  Who knew there were so many varieties of wall stone?  It was almost as if the landscapers were trying to trick me into thinking this project would be fun by enticing me with bright colors…  Here are some examples:

A pile of red blocks...

A little red wall sample...

A tan block with bits of red...

A tan with red wall portion...

A stack of tan blocks...

A sample of a plain tan wall...

The simplicity of concrete gray...

A concrete-colored wall...

Perhaps you're wondering what tan and gray look like together? This was actually my favorite, and it came in giant blocks...

There was even a rainbow option...

For those with money to burn, there was thin stacked stone. For me, this just said, more money and more work!

Here is a stacked stone wall sample...

Ironically enough, I found the stone yards had less variety than the landscaping and home improvement stores.  I definitely wouldn’t have thought that.  Apparently, most people go for terra-cotta-esque stone tinged with taupe lines, because that was all I saw in the stone yards.

Now, I’d better get my work gloves out…again.

