Quick and Easy Fig Salad Dressing

Have you ever started to prepare a meal, only to find that a few key ingredients are missing from the pantry and/or refrigerator?

That was me a few weeks ago, when I realized I was out of salad dressing and red wine vinegar and I had a big bowl of lettuce and veggies all ready for dinner.

It was time to get resourceful, so I grabbed the last of a jar of fig preserves and vowed to make a tasty salad dressing in mere minutes.  This is what I came up with in a pinch:

Quick and Easy Fig Salad Dressing

»  2 big, heaping spoonfuls of fig preserves
»  2 tablespoons of red onion, finely sliced
»  2 tablespoons of white vinegar
»  dash of sesame oil
»  1/8-1/4 teaspoon of garlic juice
»  about 1/4 cup of streaming extra virgin olive oil
»  sprinkling of salt and pepper

Combine the fig preserves, red onion, vinegar, sesame oil and garlic juice in a medium bowl, whisking the ingredients together.  Slowly stream in the extra virgin olive oil while continuing to whisk the salad dressing together until it emulsifies.  Finish the dressing by seasoning it with salt and pepper.

I thought the flecks of fig running throughout the dressing were a sweet treat, but you could also add a bit of: ginger, sesame seeds, or finely chopped nuts to this dressing.

