Dressed-Up Bran Muffins

I have been going through a muffin phase lately.  It’s due to the fact that I find myself short on time in the mornings and there is a convenient muffin shop in my commute.  However, I decided after looking up the nutrition facts, to forgo the humongous, enough-to-feed-a-small-town muffins and make some of my own.

After I baked up some bran muffins, they looked rather sad and dull, so I got to work in the kitchen making a peanut butter “frosting” to make them a little prettier, and tastier.

I accented the muffins with chopped pecan pieces, but almonds, raisins, or dried cranberries would also be yummy.  These muffins could be a wonderful addition to a brunch buffet.

You can use any type of bran muffins you like: homemade, from a box mix, or even store-bought.

Peanut Butter Muffin “Frosting”

Makes enough “frosting” for 12 small muffins or 6 large ones.

  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup of creamy peanut butter (I used two rather large serving spoonfuls)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of powdered sugar
  • 3 splashes of milk or cream, or until the peanut butter achieves a “frosting-like” consistency
  • chopped pecans, to garnish

Method:

Spoon the peanut butter into a bowl.  Add in the powdered sugar and stir to combine.  I didn’t add a lot of sugar, because to me, peanut butter is pretty much good as-is, but if you like, add more sugar to the mix.

I added powdered sugar to the peanut butter for just a bit of sweetness. With all the fiber in the muffins, I felt I was inclined!

Combine the powdered sugar with the peanut butter...

Add 3 splashes of milk or cream to the peanut butter mixture, one at a time, stirring to incorporate each new addition of liquid.  In the end, the peanut butter should be thick, with a consistency similar to cake frosting.

Add the milk, one splash at a time...

See the lovely "frosting" made from peanut butter?

Frost each bran muffin and garnish with chopped nuts or other tasty bits.

Mmm. Much better than plain-old bran...

The bran muffins are so delicious this way, they might go fast!  Serve immediately.

Now, who did that?!?

Only crumb evidence remains!

