Place Card Primer: Photo Holders…Cheep, Cheep, Cheap!

One of my passions is a clever place card holder.  I rarely set a table without them.  I have quite a collection, including: wire pumpkins, bronze turkeys, little songbirds…and this guy (along with 7 friends in a mix of yellow and white):

I find that photo holders make some of the cutest, and most durable place card holders, because many customary place card holders are simply painted ceramics.  Now, I like ceramics as much as the next gal, but I have three words for you: breaking, chipping, and storage.  No, No, No.  Too much of a headache for a busy host or hostess!

The best thing about using photo holders to mark place settings?  They’re often on sale!  My set of heavy, high-quality songbirds cost as little as $1.00 a piece!

If you have a penchant for place cards, like I do, also keep an eye out for home accessories intended for decoration that have metal wire accents you can tuck a place card into.  I have a whole set of painted wood pumpkins with metal stems that make great place cards.

Happy Entertaining!

