Sweet Potato Chips

I had an itch for something salty today, but everyone is always saying how good sweet potatoes are for you, so I thought I would balance out the salty craving with something healthy … fried in oil … chuckle, chuckle.

Sweet Potato Chips
Yields the equivalent of one standard bag of chips.

The beautiful color of these sweet potato chips just makes me want to eat them even more!

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 sweet potatoes (maybe I should say 4 here, since one of mine was a monster!  See?!? ↓
  • vegetable oil for frying
  • Herbes de Provence (my blend has sea salt already in it, so I didn’t need any extra salt)

Equipment:

  • metal spider skimmer** to remove hot chips from the oil
  • flat bottomed pan with high sides for frying
  • paper towels for drying and seasoning
  • mandoline for cutting uniform, thin potato slices (you can also cut them by hand with a knife)

Wash the potatoes and dry them thoroughly.

Look at that big guy! He's going to make some tasty chips!

Peel the potatoes.

All peeled and ready to slice.

Use a mandoline to cut each potato into thin slices.  Mine is a small hand-held version I bought at a home store.  You can’t vary the thickness with it, but it’s perfect for thin slices of anything and only cost a few dollars.

Look at all the raw chips!

Fry the sweet potatoes in the vegetable oil in batches.  Keep the chips in a flat layer and use the spider skimmer to move them about.  Be careful not to overcrowd the pan.  It’s easy to do when you’re hungry!!

The chips took to the pan and now the sweet potatoes are frying away.

Remove the hot potato chips from the oil with the spider skimmer and place them on paper towels to absorb the extra oil.

Season the chips immediately with Herbes de Provence, tossing the chips to coat them in the herb blend.  Repeat with each batch.

Big bowl o' chips.

**Side-note:  Tomorrow I will be doing a blog post on this useful kitchen tool.  I love mine, a must-have in my book!

