Place Card Primer: Recycled Wine Corks

I have a large, crystal vase full of old wine corks on my kitchen counter.  It would probably look beautiful filled with fresh flowers, but when you kill plants with the frequency that I do, a glass of wine is a much more likely sight in my kitchen than fresh blooms.

A few of my old wine corks...

I have TONS and TONS of wine corks that I have saved over the years: from dates, fun dinners, anniversaries, and just because.  I decided today to think of something productive to do with them…

Recycled Wine Cork Place Card Holders

Supplies:
♦  old wine corks (I tried to pick ones with interesting names and vibrant designs, you can also vary the colors)
♦  utility blade
♦  colored paper or card stock for name tags & embellishments (I used some craft ribbons)

Method:

Lay out your old wine corks and decide which sides, images, and words you want to display on the front of your place card holders.  I tried to choose wine corks of the same size and color to make a set.

Hold the first wine cork firmly in your hand and begin by cutting a slit across the top of the wine cork to make a vertical place card holder.  Be careful not to cut yourself!

Cut along the slit you have made a few more times to deepen it.  Then, squeeze the cork on the sides to open the slit you have cut, and make it a bit wider.

It may take several cuts to make a slit that opens enough to slide a piece of paper inside.

Repeat the steps above to make as many place card holders as you like.

Insert a decorated piece of paper or card stock bearing the name of each guest into the place card holders you have made.

Here are some place card holders I made from old wine corks...aren't they delightful?

