Candied Bacon

Yes, I really did just say “candied bacon.” When I heard of this recipe from a family friend, I knew that even if it turned out poorly, I just had to try it. Also, the reaction of mon mari when he saw the recipe on the counter was priceless…

This sweet surprise is not for the faint of heart, but if you enjoy culinary exploration, you might want to give it a try. I think this candied bacon would also be a tasty way to wrap dates and bake them for an appetizer plate. Though, if I was to pair this bacon with dates, I might add some Parmesan cheese or Pecorino Romano cheese to cut the sweetness back a bit.

The smell of this bacon crisping up in the oven is reason enough to try this recipe out – Amazing!  And I hope your arteries forgive me!

Candied Bacon

Makes 12 half-slices.  This recipe is halved from the original.  For the original recipe: double the amount of bacon and cinnamon, the cloves and cracked black pepper are my modifications and are optional.  I would not double the amount of cloves if you choose to double the recipe, as they can be pretty strong!

Ingredients:

6 slices of the bacon of your choice (I used a thick cut)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

Optional: fresh cracked black pepper (to garnish)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil, or use a broiling pan, like I did.

Combine brown sugar, cinnamon, and cloves in a large bowl or square baking dish. You will need room to dredge the bacon slices in the sugar and spices.

Mix well, breaking up any clumps.

Remove 6 bacon slices from the packaging, and cut each slice in half.  Next, dredge each slice in the sugar/spice mixture, pressing the sugar mixture into the meat and shaking off the excess. Each slice should be well-coated with sugary goodness.

Place the bacon slices on the baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes for crispy bacon, 15 minutes for softer bacon.

Remove the candied bacon from the oven and serve.

All baked and crispy.

You can garnish the bacon with a little cracked black pepper if desired.

