Setting The Mood With Music

Whenever I have guests over, I like to play some soft music in the background to put everyone in a party mood. I have a number of CD’s and MP3’s I like to use when I entertain and I vary them with the theme I am trying to evoke on a particular evening. Here are a few of my favorite artists and compilations to use for company ~

Artists:

Louis Armstrong

Tony Bennett

Michael Bublé

Jimmy Buffett – his music reminds me of warm weather, spending time on the water, and grilling.

Nat King Cole

Ella Fitzgerald

Marvin Gaye

Al Green

Josh Groban

Billie Holiday

Elton John

Norah Jones

Eartha Kitt

Dean Martin – I love his songs and how happy Volare makes me when I hear it.

Van Morrison

Édith Piaf – she defined a culture, and I love the passion her songs exude.

Frank Sinatra

Barbara Streisand

Joss Stone

Andrew Lloyd Webber

Instrumental Compilations:

C’est L’amour: Romantic French Classics

Classical Romance (featuring Beethoven, Bach, and Mendelssohn to name a few)

Dinner At Eight by Lifescapes

The Most Relaxing Piano Album in the World…Ever! (I get a big kick out of the title!)

Unforgettable Instrumental Hits

Side-note: Most of the albums above are available on music websites. I have also found many great albums on display at retail stores (where you can sample tracks), in home stores, and at bookstores. Just ask the staff!

