Oven-Roasted Pecans

I have been trying to cut processed foods from my diet lately, and one of the areas where it becomes difficult is with snack foods.  One of my favorite snacks is a good, crispy potato chip, so to replace them, I have been roasting nuts from home.

I love the wonderful aroma that fills the house when you roast nuts in the oven, especially pecans.

When I visit mon mari‘s family, sometimes his folks give us fresh pecans they have picked…Mmmm, delicious.  But store-bought nuts work just fine if you don’t have access to fresh ones.

Here is a quick and easy method to roast pecans (or any nuts) that I have been using a lot lately:

Oven-Roasted Pecans

2 cups pecan halves

1 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

sprinkling of garlic salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Mix the pecan halves in the melted butter and sprinkle with garlic salt.  Toss to coat evenly.

Spread the pecans in an even layer on a half-sheet baking pan.

Roast the pecans in the oven for 20-25 minutes.  Remove from the oven, and allow the nuts to cool a few minutes and then taste them for seasoning.  At this point, I sometimes add an extra sprinkling of garlic salt, while the nuts are still warm.

Allow to cool and enjoy!

Side-note:  I love pecans when they are really roasted, almost burned, but not quite.  I take them out when they are a nice deep brown in color.  Obviously, roast the nuts to your desired level of done-ness.  As long as the nuts aren’t black or smoking, you really can’t go wrong!

