Decorating With Glass Bottles

If you are searching for an easy way to add a pop of color to your home – consider collecting or buying a few glass bottles to display.  Decorative bottles are inexpensive [they generally retail for $3.99 to $7 at home stores] and come in a variety of colors and patterns.  You can also find them at flea markets, yard sales, and craft stores.  The bottles look lovely on mantles, side tables, as centerpieces, or in a window.

I have a Clerestory window in my home that I decorate at the change of the seasons.  I have various accessories that I put in this high window for fall and winter.  I smile when I see the objects greeting me as I come up my driveway from their perch in my little window, and I like gazing at the shadows these favorite collectibles cast in the evening as they are back-lit by my indoor lighting when I’m outdoors.

In the summertime, I had been using two iron pagoda lanterns for decoration, and as much as I love them, they aren’t the most colorful things in the world.  I was yearning for something brighter, and something that would add light and warmth to my home.

Glass bottles seemed like the perfect answer.  The bottles look like jewels in the morning sunlight and they glow in the evenings as they reflect the lamplight.  For just a few dollars, I was able to build a colorful collection that adds a little something extra to an unused area in my home.

After a month or so, I began wondering how I would store the bottles so that they didn’t break when I went to change them out at the end of the summer.  On a trip to the market, I saw a large pile of empty wine boxes lying against the wall.  The store was happy to let me have one for free, and now I have an easy way to keep my colorful bottles safe for another year of use and enjoyment.

