A Bit of The Big Apple: The Egg Cream

It’s hot in my part of the world. Verrrry hot. The kind of heat that hits you like a ton of bricks when you walk out the door. Hence, mes amies, you may have noticed a theme in my blog posts of late as I search for effective, and delicious, ways to combat the early summer heat.

I remember watching an episode of The Martha Stewart Show years ago and seeing her make a dessert-y drink called an egg cream with one of her guests. I had never heard of an egg cream before, but I marveled at the fizzy, chocolaty drink and made a mental note to try it sometime.

In the heat of June, a tall glass filled with cool milk, rich chocolate syrup, and seltzer bubbles sounds like a step closer to heaven, so I decided to try to make an egg cream today. Here is how my attempt at cool refreshment turned out:

As mon mari ironically noted,

The egg cream is like allspice. It has neither egg, nor cream, and allspice isn’t made of all the spices!

If you would like to try an egg cream out yourself, Martha Stewart’s original recipe can be found here: http://www.marthastewart.com/341899/egg-cream.

My adaptation of the recipe is reproduced below. My only real modification to the original recipe was in the writing/format, and I added some chocolate shavings.  Unfortunately, the flavor of the shavings got a bit lost in my drink.

Egg Cream Recipe (Adapted From Martha Stewart)

Makes 4 servings.

Ingredients:

½ cup chocolate syrup

1 cup whole milk

16 oz. cold seltzer or sparkling water

Directions:

Use a set of four glasses (approximately 10 oz. capacity).

Pour 2 tablespoons of the chocolate syrup into each of the glasses.

Pour 1/4 cup milk into each glass over the syrup.

Add 4 ounces of cold seltzer to each glass, stirring vigorously.

Top with chocolate shavings and serve immediately.

My impression?

Well, I know the egg cream is a New York favorite, but maybe I’ll just leave this concoction to the New Yorkers.

I honestly don’t understand what all the “fizz” is about.

