Tasty Herb Butter

The summer heat has been taking a toll on my little herb garden, so this week I was looking for a way to use some of my crop and enhance my dinner menus, and I thought of herb butter.

I had never made herb butter before, but I figured with my pots of basil, mint, chives, dill, and parsley, I had to be able to make something good.  I thought if I combined some of my fresh herbs with my dried herb collection in my spice cupboard, I could even make something GREAT.

All my favorite Greek flavors!

I know from years of eating research, that herb butters are generally formed from some mix of softened, unsalted butter, herbs (fresh or dried), and additions like garlic, pepper, salt, onions, scallions, shallots and spices.  I have tried flavored butters on toasted breads, potatoes, and vegetables in the past.  So I took my herb snips to the patio, snipped away with delight, brought my bounty into the kitchen, and came up with these ideas.

Side-note:  I purposefully kept the portions small since I was trying to make different butter combos for the first time.  Any fresh herbs should be very finely chopped – no one wants to bite down on a large piece of herb, or gasp, garlic!

My Grecian Herb Butter

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1 tablespoon fresh dill, finely chopped

1/2 tablespoon fresh mint, finely chopped

1/2 tablespoon dried oregano

sprinkling of garlic salt

Directions:

Combine the softened butter with the fresh and dried herbs and garlic salt in a small bowl.  Mix well.

I thought this homemade herb butter tasted better after some time in the fridge or freezer, so I didn’t eat it immediately.  You can shape the butter with a mold, or into a log with the help of plastic wrap and freeze it.  After a couple of hours in the freezer, you can cut the butter log into portions or take out your molds.  Or, you can allow the flavors of the herb butter to “develop” in the fridge like I did….I accidentally forgot about the butters and left them in the fridge for about 24 hours (oops) and they were still delicious the next day after a few minutes at room temperature.

¤¤¤

My Spicy Italian Herb Butter

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1 tablespoon fresh parsley

1 tablespoon dried Italian seasoning blend (basil, chili pepper, onion, garlic, oregano, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, dehydrated tomato, orange peel)

sprinkling of freshly ground black pepper

sprinkling of garlic salt

Directions:

Combine the softened butter with the fresh and dried herbs, pepper, and garlic salt in a small bowl.  Mix well.

I thought this homemade herb butter tasted better after some time in the fridge or freezer, so I didn’t eat it immediately.  You can shape the butter with a mold, or into a log with the help of plastic wrap and freeze it.  After a couple of hours in the freezer, you can cut the butter log into portions or take out your molds.  Or, you can allow the flavors of the herb butter to “develop” in the fridge like I did….I accidentally forgot about the butters and left them in the fridge for about 24 hours (oops) and they were still delicious the next day after a few minutes at room temperature.

♦♦ I tried the recipe for My Spicy Italian Herb Butter on a grilled cheese sandwich (gourmet, I know) and it was amazing!!  I would highly recommend it for a flavorful twist on a simple sandwich!

