A Pillow Fit For Royalty

Now I know that I wrote about pillows earlier this week, but I just had to tell you readers about a great idea I had recently, before it loses its timeliness.

I don’t know about you, but I was up by 4 a.m. on April 29, 2011 to watch the Royal Wedding spectacular on live television. I still get a little misty at the beautiful pictures of the Duchess of Cambridge in her wedding day finery.

I was also a little annoyed with myself, in my 4 a.m. stupor, because I hadn’t thought to get anything commemorative for the Royal Wedding (like a whimsical tea towel) and that I didn’t make a fascinator for the occasion.

But then I came up with this idea to make a set of King and Queen pillows.

As I have already mentioned, I have a vignette in my living room that is perfect for displaying pillows. A day or two after the Royal Wedding, I was looking through a catalog, and I saw some King and Queen pillows for about $50 per pillow. They were embroidered with crowns, and rather generic, and had nothing at all to do with the Royal Wedding. But they got me thinking—wouldn’t it be a cute idea to do some His and Hers pillows, with custom monograms (my idea), and commemorate the King and Queen of my house?

I haven’t embarked on this project yet, because I am still looking around at fabrics and appliqués, but I thought I would share it in the blog-o-sphere in case any of you Royal Wedding watchers were looking for a fun way to get a little royal panache into your home!

